Australasian Study of Parliament Group header

Coming Events

Annual Australasian Study of Parliament Group Conference 2015

Location: Parliament House, Wellington, New Zealand.

Theme: "Modernising Parliament: Rethinking Parliament for the Next Generation."

Dates: Wednesday, 30 September to Friday, 2 October 2015.

The overarching theme of the 2015 Annual ASPG Conference is about making Parliament relevant to the next generation. Available from the Downloads, at the foot of this webpage, is the preliminary conference programme. Within the context of modernising Parliament, the programme provides an eclectic mix of topics:

  • Youth MPs presenting their vision for a modern Parliament
  • An inclusive Parliament a people's House that engages the public
  • Representing diversity, including women, indigenous peoples and multiculturalism
  • New technology and new ways of operating Parliament standing orders, proceedings, parliamentary privilege
  • Parliamentary committees as the vehicle for modernisation
  • An international perspective on rethinking Parliament
  • Enhancing public confidence in Parliament ethics, transparency and MPs' professional development.

Conference attendees will hear from an exciting mix of New Zealand, Australian and overseas presenters, including members of Parliament, academics and political commentators who are experts in their fields. They will bring to the conference insightful and thought provoking ideas about making Parliament relevant to the next generation.

If you are interested in attending, fill out the conference registration form, which along with the conference programme, conference timeline and information about accommodation available within easy walking distance of Parliament, can be accessed from the Downloads on this page.

If you have any queries, please contact:
Lesley Ferguson, ASPG Chapter Secretary, New Zealand.
Phone: +64 4 817 9123
Mobile: 021 243 7049


| Disclaimer | Contact the webmaster if you have any comments about this website. | Managers | Last updated 25 July 2017. |